A 12th century fortress tower, belonging to the Caamano family, is the origin of the Pazo de Rubianes. Mr. García Caamaño built his residence on the Rubianes estate at the beginning of the 15th century, as can be read in the stone above the entrance arch. "This house was built by D. García Caamaño in the year 1,411". Years later, in March 1441, Mr. García Caamaño founded the Villa de García today known as Vilagarcía de Arousa.
The Chapel was built by D. Josepe Caamaño y Mendoza Lord of the House of Rubianes in 1598, dedicated to Saint Joseph. Inside we can see a unique altarpiece from the 16th century and various images from the time.
In the 18th century, the Lord of the House of Rubianes, Mr. Jacobo Ozores, was exiled to France by King Carlos IV. Upon his return, the property is very deteriorated and he decides to rebuild it, for which he will have the services of a French architect who would give the current Frenchified appearance to the Pazo that we know today, which is more reminiscent of a French Chateau than a Galician Pazo.
The winery, stables and stables from the XV century are the oldest buildings that are preserved in their original state.